Skip to Main Content

Library Procedure Handbook

Collection Development Policy

Collection Development Policy LTC Library selects, makes available, curates, and evaluates physical and digital materials that support and enrich the programs, curriculum, and learning outcomes of the LTC community based on immediate and anticipated information needs.

General guidelines for selection

Library staff base licensing and purchasing decisions on the needs of known assignments/courses/ programs, suggestions and input from faculty, staff, and students, and current industry sources. Guidelines for selection of materials: 

  • Relevance to instructional needs of the faculty
  • Relevance to curriculum-based needs of students
  • Probable need based on existing programs and collections
  • Coverage and currency: dates of coverage, update frequency, cumulative or supplements 
  • Licensing considerations: limitations and restrictions
  • ADA compliant
  • Appropriate academic level for our user
  • Cost
  • Representation of varying viewpoints For LTC students or employees who have an information need outside of our collection scope, the Library will provide assistant in obtaining needed materials via interlibrary loan.

To request a purchase or a trial of a digital resource or database, please patrons should email library@gotoltc.edu. Selection of materials by the library does not imply endorsement of the contents or the views expressed in those materials. No material will be excluded from the collection because of the race, nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, political or social viewpoint or controversial nature of either the author or the materials.

Donations

Policy

LTC Library welcomes donated materials that support our collection policy. Upon receipt, all gift materials become the property of LTC Library. LTC library reserves the right to determine retention, location, and processing of donated items. Donations that are not added to the collection will follow the deselection process. Please note: Federal laws do not permit the library to make appraisals of donated materials. For donors who wish to have the value of their gift assessed, please obtain an appraisal prior to making the donation.

 

Procedure for Library Staff:

If someone leaves donations, accept the donation and place on the left-hand shelf at the back of the first aisle in the backroom. The shelf is labeled "Pending/Cataloging." Ashley will review them as she is able. Let the donation person know that we will assess each book to see if it fits our collection policy and will add it as we're able. 

(We do not give donation receipts at this time)

 

Inventory Procedures

Inventory Procedure

Mobile Worklist Part

  • Have someone on your staff download the Mobile Worklists app from iTunes on a mobile device.  They would login with their Sierra credentials and the wpals site code.
  • Choose to create a list (give it a name with your college initials, like NWTCMainInventory)
  • Start scanning the barcodes for a specific Sierra location.  You will need to allow the program to use the camera on your mobile device to scan barcodes. 
  • When done scanning that location, click on the export icon (box with an arrow) to send to your ILS. Then click OK.  If you cannot scan the whole location at once, you can add more items to that list later and export it then (or export it each time that you stop for the day if you want to).

Sierra Create Lists Part

  • Now over in Sierra, you can go to Create Lists and choose an empty line.  Select Copy and choose the Item Worklist you just finished (it will be near the bottom of the list).  For example: Item Worklists: NWTCMainInventory nwtcklp [date](# of barcodes).  Now you have a list of the scanned items on your shelves for that location!
  • At this point, you can use Global Update to look at that review file for inventory issues.  Toggle to show the status to see if you scanned any titles that have a status of lost, missing, claims returned, etc.  Toggle to show the location to see if you scanned any titles that are in the wrong location.
  • To do a comparison between what you have scanned and what should have been on the shelves in that location, create another list in Sierra of the Item records for that location (I have a saved search that does this called NWTC Inventory Shelf List).  Run a search like that one.
  • Now export the shelf list results.  I have a saved export called NWTC Inventory Shelf List that exports the pertinent information (make sure that the barcode, title, call number, location, status, and loan rules are exported).
  • Also export that worklist you created through Mobile Worklists.  Just export the barcode field (that is all you need for the comparison).

Excel Part

  1. Time to compare the lists in Excel.  Open a blank Excel document and use Data>From Text to import the shelf list information on the first worksheet (the barcodes must be in column A).
  2. Open another worksheet in that workbook and use Data>From Text to import the Scanned barcodes from the worklist into that column A.
  3. Back on the first worksheet, label the last empty column “Scanned”
  4. In the first cell of the Scanned column, enter this formula:  =IF(ISERROR(MATCH(Sheet1!A2,Sheet2!$A$1:$A$1000,0)),"?","Scanned")  If you have more than 1000 scanned barcodes on Sheet2, replace the 1000 with the number of rows on that worksheet.
  5. Drag (or copy and paste) to put the formula into all the cells in the Scanned column.
  6. Great!  Now you should see all of the rows where your scanned barcode matches what Sierra said is on the shelves in that location.  You will also see ? for all of the rows where Sierra says you have an item in that location that was not  scanned. Highlight the Scanned column and choose Data, Filter to remove the Scanned items.  Now you just have the rows that you want to investigate (the ? rows).  If there is a loan rule listed, then that item is checked out and you can ignore it.  Just focus on ones with loan rule 0.

Nursing Resources Procedure

Created: 09/2013 KC
Finalized: 01/2014 KC

Withdrawing Items

Material older than 10 years will be removed and withdrawn from the Nursing Collection on a yearly basis (performed by library staff during Spring/Summer Terms).

eBooks older than 10 years will be removed and withdrawn from the LTC Online Catalog (with the understanding that these items are part of a larger vendor collection that LTC Library doesn’t hold the power to remove from the overall collection).

Material between 5-10 years old will be reviewed by Nursing Faculty by a site visit every 2 years (to be completed at the September Nursing Division Meeting)      
Last Completed: 9/16/13

Acquisition of Items

Nursing staff will send down new books and resources for their collection that supplement and complement their course(s) curriculum.

Nursing staff (as the Subject Matter Experts), recommend supplemental material for LTC Library staff to purchase that will support and complement the nursing curriculum.

Nursing Staff will attempt to provide one copy of their current textbook which will be housed behind the Library desk on reserve for nursing students for an on-campus 4-hour checkout.

Weeding / Withdrawal Policy

Deselection or Cancellation of materials LTC Library will deselect or discontinue resources that no longer support our collection policy. Physical items that are removed are often offered free to students or disposed of at the discretion of LTC library. Criteria when evaluating material for deselection or cancellation may include: ·

  • Obsolete, inaccurate, out-of-date (typically older than 10 years), or outside the scope of LTC programs/curriculum ·
  • In an obsolete format or in poor physical condition ·
  • Unable to be retained due to lack of use or space constraints ·
  • Cost ·
  • Quality and currency of past use as compared to benchmark set when content was licensed ·
  • Existence of other alternative sources which match overall objective and mission more closely

Lakeshore Technical College does not discriminate against protected classes, including but not limited to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, or gender--including sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, disability or age in employment, admissions, or its programs or activities. To handle inquiries regarding Lakeshore’s nondiscrimination policies, contact the Manager of Access, Equity, and Inclusion for students 920.693.1120, nicole.yang@gotoltc.edu or the Executive Director of Human Resources for staff/others 920.693.1139, marissa.holst@gotoltc.edu. Lakeshore, 1290 North Avenue, Cleveland, WI 53015. TTY 711 gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement. For more information visit https://gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement.