Lakeshore Library Website: Services & Support

Any Lakeshore Technical College student or staff member may borrow materials from the Library. Students and staff must have an active Lakeshore ID# or ID card to check out material. Students must bring their Lakeshore Student ID card to check out library materials and equipment, including laptops. The card holder is responsible for all items checked out on their account. Students must be currently enrolled in at least one Lakeshore course to borrow equipment (laptops, tablets, etc.) or course reserve items.

Community members of the Lakeshore District are welcome to use the resources in the library as long as student, faculty and staff access is not infringed; they are limited to borrowing 5 items at one time. All residents must be over the age of 16 and show proof of identity. Community members are not able to place items on hold, request interlibrary loan, or check out reserve materials including devices and equipment. Community members can access library databases on campus only.

Lakeshore Library follows Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), Wisconsin Statutes Section 43.30 and Wisconsin Personal Information Practices Act (Sections 19.62 to 19.80) in protecting the confidentiality of patron records. No personally identifiable information is retained beyond the time period necessary for Library operations.

Responsibility for the return of materials and/or the cost of lost or damaged materials will be charged to the person in whose name the items were checked out.

Materials not renewed or returned by the date due are considered overdue. Patrons with material checked out receive a courtesy notice before the item(s) due date, three overdue notices, and a Final Bill. Items more than one month overdue are considered lost and billed for the replacement amount plus $10.00 service fee per item (for devices, equipment, and reserve items). Once the Final Bill has been sent, patrons owing more than $30.00 will be entered in the Lakeshore Student Billing Pre-Collection process.

Notices are sent to patron’s student email address and to the mailing address on file with the College. Failure to receive a notice does not remove the borrower's obligation to return materials on time or to pay charges incurred.

Most Library materials may be renewed for additional loan period(s) in person, by phone 920.693.1130, or email library@gotoltc.edu . Renewals are not permitted on items requested by another person or if the patron has overdue materials and/or outstanding charges.

Lakeshore students and staff may to place a hold on library material (via the library catalog, in person, over the phone, or by email). Requester is notified via their campus email address when the item is ready to be picked up.

Lakeshore Staff members may book future requests for Staff Equipment, E-readers, Tablets, and laptops through the library catalog to ensure material is available when needed. Requester is notified via their campus email address when the item is ready to be picked up.

Lakeshore Library welcomes donated materials that support our collection policy. Upon receipt, all gift materials become the property of Lakeshore Library. The Library reserves the right to determine retention, location, and processing of donated items. Donations that are not added to the collection will follow the deselection process. Please note: Federal laws do not permit the library to make appraisals of donated materials. For donors who wish to have the value of their gift assessed, please obtain an appraisal prior to making the donation.

Lakeshore Library selects, makes available, curates, and evaluates physical and digital materials that support and enrich the programs, curriculum, and learning outcomes of the campus community based on immediate and anticipated information needs. Library staff base licensing and purchasing decisions on the needs of known assignments/courses/ programs, suggestions and input from faculty, staff, and students, and current industry sources.

 

Guidelines for selection of materials:

• Relevance to instructional needs of the faculty
• Relevance to curriculum-based needs of students
• Probable need based on existing programs and collections
• Coverage and currency: dates of coverage, update frequency, cumulative or supplements
• Licensing considerations: limitations and restrictions
• ADA compliant
• Appropriate academic level for our user
• Cost
• Representation of varying viewpoints

 

To request a trial of a digital resource or database, please email library@gotoltc.edu

Selection of materials by the library does not imply endorsement of the contents or the views expressed in those materials. No material will be excluded from the collection because of the race, nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, sexual identity, political or social viewpoint or controversial nature of either the author or the materials.

 

Deselection or Cancellation of materials

Lakeshore Library will deselect or discontinue resources that no longer support our collection policy. Physical items that are removed are often offered free to students or disposed of at the discretion of the Library.

Criteria when evaluating material for deselection or cancellation may include:

• Obsolete, inaccurate, out-of-date (typically older than 10 years), or outside the scope of Lakeshore Technical College programs/curriculum
• In an obsolete format or in poor physical condition
• Unable to be retained due to lack of use or space constraints
• Cost
• Quality and currency of past use as compared to benchmark set when content was licensed
• Existence of other alternative sources which match overall objective and mission more closely

Students are responsible for picking up their textbook order within 90 days of delivery. After this date, the items will be considered abandoned and become property of Lakeshore Technical College. Lakeshore maintains no liability to return books for students even if they drop their classes.

Students are responsible for returning their eCampus items to eCampus directly. For eCampus return instructions and policies please visit their website. In the event that an eCampus textbook is returned to the library desk or book drop without identifying information, it will be considered lost property. The library will hold the book for 90 days. If the item is not claimed within 90 days, it will be considered property of Lakeshore Technical College.