LTC Library: Women's History Month: Primary Sources

Audio

Alice Paul Recordings
Recorded between 1972 and 1973, this is an oral history interview with suffragette and women's rights activist Alice Paul.
Black Women Oral History Project Interviews, 1976–1981
Conducted by Radcliffe College from 1976-1981, the Black Women Oral History Project consists of interviews with 72 African American women.
Somos Latinas Project Oral Histories
From Recollection Wisconsin: The Somos Latinas (We Women) History Project (2012-2016) was created to document the many significant and largely hidden contributions of Latinas in Wisconsin engaged in their communities to positively impact society in K-12 and post-secondary education, civil rights, women’s rights, domestic abuse services, immigration reform, political representation, peace and justice, and other areas. The online collection currently includes 52 interviews from 37 Latinas from across Wisconsin.
Speaking While Female Speech Bank
This collection of transcripts, videos, and recorded sound showcases women speakers across time and around the world.
Wisconsin Sound Archive
The Wisconsin Sound Archive is an ongoing effort to digitize and make the audio heritage from and about the state of Wisconsin available to the public online.
Women at War: Stories from the Veterans History Project
From the Library of Congress: Chosen from among the thousands of collections of women’s experiences in the Veterans History Project, this modest selection spans four wars. While many of the collections are nurses’ tales, there is also the story of a code breaker (Ann Caracristi), a welder (Meda Brendall), and a flight surgeon (Rhonda Cornum), plus two women who rose through the ranks to secure places in the military history books.
Women in the West Oral Histories
From Washington State University: Totaling over 230 hours of audio, this collection holds nearly 200 of these interviews, originally recorded between 1979 and 2005. The majority of the women interviewed were born between 1881 and the early 1930s, and the collection provides invaluable first hand documentation regarding the role of women in the northwest during the early and mid 1900s.

Newspapers & Periodicals

Images & Documents

Gender & Women's Studies Collection
Images and political posters from the UW-Madison Digital Collection.
Susan B. Anthony Papers
From the Library of Congress: The papers of reformer and suffragist Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906) span the period 1846-1934 with the bulk of the material dating from 1846 to 1906. The collection, consisting of approximately 500 items (6,265 images) on seven recently digitized microfilm reels, includes correspondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and miscellaneous items.
Wisconsin Women's History
From the Wisconsin Historical Society: The Wisconsin Women's History digital collection shares a selection of manuscripts and ephemera documenting the lives of women in Wisconsin. Begun in 2015, it focuses initially on women who were active in social movements such as suffrage, temperance, abolition, civil rights, and other efforts to reform society.
Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment
From the National Archives, this a collection of primary sources and teaching activities.
Women in Science
Explore this collection from the Digital Public Library of America. Topics include: Education, Botany, Medicine, Engineering, Space Exploration, and Gender in Science.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
From the Library of Congress: The images depict the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members. The photographs document the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.
Women of the Civil War
Digitized photographs by Mathew Brady from the Library of Congress's collection.
Women Photographers of the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information
Digitized photographs from the Library of Congress's collection.
Women Striving Forward, 1910s–40s
Digitized photographs from the Library of Congress's collection.
Women Writing History: A Coronavirus Journaling Project
This project from the National Women’s History Museum documents the daily thoughts and personal experiences of women during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Women’s Suffrage: Pictures of Suffragists and their Activities
From the Library of Congress's Prints & Photographs Division, this guide include portraits of suffragists and images about the women's suffrage movement in the U.S.

Space physicist Virginia Carter, image from the Digital Public Library of America's Women in Science collection.

Space physicist Virginia Carter in her lab at Aerospace Corp. in Calif., 1972 [Photograph]. (March 27, 1972). UCLA Library Digital Collections. https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz0002nk2x