Skip to Main Content

Psychology Research Guide

Getting Started

Developmental Psychology Resources

You will need to conduct in-depth research on a topic relating to this course. Use the information below and the tabs on this guide to find credible resources. You'll also need to cite in APA - so make sure to check out the APA Citation Guide for more information. 

New to research in Psychology?
This video briefly covers how to FIND, SELECT, and CITE sources for this course. 

Recommended Databases

APA PsycInfo

APA PsycInfo

  • Over 5,000,000 peer-reviewed records 

  • Spanning 600 years of content 

  • Records from 2,400 journals 

academic search premier logo

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including full text for nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed titles.

google scholar logo

Google Scholar

Feeling stuck? Google Scholar is Google's nerdy cousin: It searches only scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Any results with a "PDF" link are freely accessible. If you can't open the full text, let a librarian know - we'll get it for you through interlibrary loan! 

Masterfile database logo

Masterfile Complete

Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents

doaj logo

DOAJ

A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

medline database logo

MEDLINE

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Search over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

PubMed Central logo

PubMed Central

PMC contains more than 5 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700-present).

Remember your ABC's

ABC's of Evaluation

Author

  • Who wrote this? - If you can't tell, that's a red flag!
  • What are their credentials? Do they have any expertise on this topic? Are they a journalist, a blogger, a politician? - Do a Google search on them if you can't tell. 
  • Who is the author affiliated with? Do they work for a new station? Are they affiliated with any political groups, companies, or non-profits? Is there a corporate sponsor? 
  • Why did the author or organization write this? To inform? To sell something? To persuade? 

Bias (any unsubstantiated judgement, statement or evidence) 

  • How is the information presented? (Fact? Opinion?) 
  • Is their inflammatory language or unsubstantiated evidence? 
  • Can you find alternative sources that support the claims in this article? 
  • What voices and perspectives are MISSING from this article/video? Who is not represented? 

Credibility

  • Has anyone reviewed this information? Is it peer-reviewed? Does an editorial board review the information? 
  • How up-to-date is the aricle? Is the information out-of-date? 
  • What was their research methodology? How did they collect their evidence - did they use survey tools? Interviews? 

Library Visit Worksheet

Lakeshore Technical College does not discriminate against protected classes, including but not limited to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, or gender--including sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, disability or age in employment, admissions, or its programs or activities. To handle inquiries regarding Lakeshore’s nondiscrimination policies, contact the Manager of Access, Equity, and Inclusion for students 920.693.1120, nicole.yang@gotoltc.edu or the Executive Director of Human Resources for staff/others 920.693.1139, marissa.holst@gotoltc.edu. Lakeshore, 1290 North Avenue, Cleveland, WI 53015. TTY 711 gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement. For more information visit https://gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement.