LTC Library: Psychology Research Guide: Articles &amp; Databases

Research Basics

Psychology Research - A Starting Point

Welcome to your Psychology Research guide! This guide is meant to compile resources relevant to your career area in one place.

Recommended Databases

APA PsycInfo

Over 5,000,000 peer-reviewed records
Spanning 600 years of content

Records from 2,400 journals

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including full text for nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed titles.

Masterfile Complete

Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents

DOAJ

A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Search over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

PubMed Central

PMC contains more than 5 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700-present).

British Journal of Developmental Psychology
Contains articles on all aspects of developmental psychology.
Journal of Clinical Psychology
Monthly peer-reviewed medical journal covering psychological research, assessment, and practice.
Journal of Mental Health Counseling
Addresses concerns of mental health counselors in private practice, community agencies, business and industry, and rehabilitation.

PLOS Medicine This link opens in a new window
Open-access medical journal addressing the major biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health.

APA Monitor
Covers science and practice of psychology, the education pipeline, and how psychology influences society at large.
APS Observer
Publication of the Association for Psychological Science. Educates readers on matters affecting the research and application of psychology.
Psychology Today
A popular magazine that presents psychological information for the layperson.

Current & Historical News

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create an account with your Lakeshore email address.
Explore breaking news, multimedia, opinion, business, & more.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
U.S. Newsstream (Badgerlink) This link opens in a new window
Over 500+ U.S. news sources including Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, The Herald Times Reporter, and many Wisconsin newspapers.

Psychology Research Guide