Audio

Herstories Audio/Visual Collections (Lesbian Herstory Archives)
From their website: This contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral herstory cassettes in the Archives’ Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.
LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory
From their website: Founded in 2014 by Professor Elspeth Brown and based at the University of Toronto Mississauga, the Collaboratory is a public and digital humanities research initiative. We preserve gay, queer, and trans life stories, using new methodologies in digital history, collaborative research, and archival practice.
Milwaukee LGBT Oral History Project Interviews
Hosted by Recollection Wisconsin: Oral history interviews conducted by the Milwaukee LGBT History Project 2003-2007. Interviewees describe their coming out experiences, the Gay Liberation Movement in Milwaukee, early LGBT organizations, the impact of feminism on LGBT politics, and LGBT social activities.
Serving in Silence: LGBTQ+ Veterans
A collection of oral history interviews from the Library of Congress's Veteran's History Project that presents stories of LGBTQ+ veterans who served from the WWII era to the present.
Shall Not Be Recognized Oral History Project Interviews
Hosted by Recollection Wisconsin: In 2007, author Will Fellows collaborated with photographer Jeff Pearcy to create “Shall Not Be Recognized,” an exhibit of photographic and verbal portraits of thirty same-sex couples in long-term, committed relationships, all residents of the Milwaukee area.

Newspapers & Periodicals

Gay Community News (Boston, MA)
Hosted by Northeastern University Library: The Gay Community News was established in 1973 and later went on to operate as the Bromfield Street Educational Foundation. Until the Bromfield Street Educational Foundation ceased operation in 1999 due to financial difficulties, the Gay Community News was one of the oldest, most progressive national newspapers in the gay community. The Collection contains the majority of issues between 1973 to 1999 with only a scattering of issues missing.
Gay Media and Media Coverage in the History of the LGBT Community in Wisconsin
Hosted by the Wisconsin LGBTQ History Project: This is an alphabetical list of the Periodicals known to have been published in or primarily for the Wisconsin LGBT community.
Leaping La Crosse News (La Crosse, WI)
Hosted by Recollection Wisconsin: The Leaping La Crosse News, a monthly newsletter published from 1979-2007, was a source of information for lesbians living in the La Crosse, Wisconsin, area. Topics covered include national, state and local news of legal cases, entertainment and events as well as social and political activities of the La Crosse area lesbian community.
Lesbian Herstory Archives Newsletter
Published between 1975 and 2004, these provide news, updates, and information.
LGBT Collection
Hosted by JSTOR: The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States.
PFLAG- Lakeshore Newsletters (Sheboygan, WI)
Hosted by the Wisconsin LGBTQ History Project, this is a collection of newsletters published between 1990 and 1993.
Washington Blade (Washington, D.C.)
Hosted by the DC Public Library: The Washington Blade has been Washington, D.C.’s principal lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) newspaper since its first issue in October 1969. It began as a monthly news sheet and a replacement for the Mattachine Society of Washington’s newsletter of the 1950s and early 1960s. The Blade quickly grew, adding images and additional pages, and expanding its run to twice a month, and then weekly. The Blade covered current events from an LGBT perspective as well as LGBT life in D.C. and the social and political progress of the gay rights movement.

Images & Documents

Arrest Reports From the 1969 Stonewall Uprising
Hosted by the New York Times: A set of police records gathered by OutHistory.org, a Web site run by the Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies at the City University of New York Graduate Center. The records concern the start of the Stonewall uprising in the early morning of June 28, 1969.
Digital Transgender Archive
From their website: The DTA is an international collaboration among dozens of colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Eldon Murray Papers
Hosted by Recollection Wisconsin: Eldon Murray was a prominent activist in the Milwaukee LGBT community. In addition to his work with the Gay Peoples Union (GPU) and the Milwaukee AIDS Project, Murray was the founder of SAGE/Milwaukee, the first organization in Wisconsin dedicated to serving the needs of older gay, lesbian, and bisexual people through community building and counseling services.
Free to Use and Reuse: LGBTQ+ (Library of Congress)
From their website: These portraits of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Americans represent people who made a difference in many careers and time periods. LGBTQ+ Pride Month is often recognized in June. Unless otherwise noted, the images are from the Prints & Photographs Division.
Gay Peoples Union Collection
Hosted by UW-Madison Libraries: The Gay Peoples Union Collection presents digital copies of primary source materials documenting GPU and Milwaukee's gay liberation movement. Materials were selected from the following collections held by the Division of Archives and Special Collections of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries: the Gay Peoples Union Records, GPU News, and the Eldon Murray Papers.
GLBT Historical Society Digital Collections
This collection includes documents, pictures, artwork, videos, audio recording, newspapers, and ephemera from the GLBT Historical Society in San Francisco, CA.
Herstories Photo Collections (Lesbian Herstory Archives)
From their website: The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the largest collections of materials about lesbians in the world. Our photo collection, which we are now starting to digitize, reflects the growth of the Archives since 1974. Our collection holds tens of thousands of images. We offer you a small sampler here.
International Gay Information Center Collection
From the The New York Public Library Digital Collections: This collection consists chiefly of photographs donated to the International Gay Information Center Archives before its acquisition by The New York Public Library in 1988. Additional gifts of photography have been added to the collection during the 1990s. The collection documents many aspects of the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, including activism, AIDS, erotica, pageants, parties and theatre. The collection includes snapshots, studio prints, movie stills, and slides. The materials date from 1886 to the present.
UW-Milwaukee LGBT Digital Collections
Hosted by the UW-Milwaukee Library: The UWM Archives documents LGBT+ history in Milwaukee, including the Gay and Lesbian Liberation Movement, AIDS activism and healthcare, and marriage equality. Search across our LGBT+ history digital collections to find news footage, photographs, documents, oral histories, and more.

Gay rights demonstration at the Democratic National Convention, New York City, July 1976

Leffler, W. K., photographer. (1976) Gay rights demonstration at the Democratic National Convention, New York City. New York, 1976. [Photograph] Retrieved from the Library of Congress, https://www.loc.gov/item/2005696365/.

LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

Audio

Newspapers & Periodicals

Images & Documents

Gay rights demonstration at the Democratic National Convention, New York City, July 1976