From their website: The Covid Disability Archive is an online archive which can be referenced by historians and researchers now and in the future to fully understand and appreciate the impact of the pandemic on Disabled people, and to ensure we are not forgotten.
From Recollection Wisconsin: The Wisconsin HIV/AIDS History Project brings to light significant stories from the state’s history of HIV/AIDS through the medium of oral histories. This collection includes video interviews with physicians, nurses, social service workers, AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin (ARCW) staff, and long-time survivors. The interviews were conducted by Linda Wesp at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 2017-2018.
From Recollection Wisconsin: The Winnebago Mental Health Institute admitted its first patient on April 23, 1873 and was known as the Northern Hospital for the Insane. In 1935, the facility name was changed to the Winnebago State Hospital and was changed again in 1973 to the Winnebago Mental Health Institute. This collection includes annual reports authored by physician superintendents and issues of The Cue, a newsletter written and edited by patients at the hospital from 1968-1973.
Hosted by Recollection Wisconsin, this collection includes Wisconsin Times (1884-1968), a newspaper published by the Wisconsin School for the Deaf. Select Wisconsin School for the Deaf yearbooks from 1924-2015 are also included.
From their website: The Disability History Museum hosts a Library of virtual artifacts, Education curricula, and Museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
A digital archive collection of yearbooks, photos, and documents from Gallaudet University. Located in Washington DC, this was the first American university for the deaf and hard of hearing.
From their website: The Helen Keller Archival Collection at the American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) is the world’s largest repository of letters, speeches, press clippings, scrapbooks, photographs, architectural drawings, artifacts and audio-video materials relating to Helen Keller.
From their website: The Perkins Archives Flickr site provides access to archival materials in our collections, which include digitized photographs and documents, as well as photographed artifacts.
Letters, documents, and photographs from the National Archives.
President George Bush signs into law the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.
President George H. W. Bush Signs the Americans with Disabilities Act [Photograph]. (July 26, 1990). National Archives. https://catalog.archives.gov/id/6037489
Lakeshore College does not discriminate against protected classes, including but not limited to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, or gender--including sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, disability or age in employment, admissions, or its programs or activities. To handle inquiries regarding Lakeshore’s nondiscrimination policies, contact the Educational Support Services Manager for students 920.693.1120, nicole.yang@gotoltc.edu or the Executive Director of Human Resources for staff/others 920.693.1139, marissa.holst@gotoltc.edu. Lakeshore, 1290 North Avenue, Cleveland, WI 53015. TTY 711 gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement. For more information visit https://gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement.
