LTC Library: Black History Month: Online Resources

Local Resources

African American Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin
Champions the growth and sustainability of African American owned businesses by providing access to capital, education and advocacy through capacity building and strategic partnerships.
African Heritage, Inc.
African Heritage, Inc. (AHI) was officially registered in July 1998 as a non-profit organization with a base in Appleton, Wisconsin. AHI was formed by four families of African descent who reside in the Fox Cities of Wisconsin. Their programs are centered on: Community, Leadership, Family, and Culture.
Black History at the Wisconsin Historical Society
The Society is celebrating BIG moments in Wisconsin history, including the significant impact that African Americans have had on the history of the state. Learn about this impact through the articles, artifacts, and other important items below that help tell the story of African Americans in Wisconsin.
Milwaukee Art Museum's Richard and Erna Flagg Collection of Haitian Art
The Milwaukee Art Museum holds the largest collection of Haitian art outside of Haiti. The Richard and Erna Flagg Collection of Haitian Art focuses on family, community and religion.
Milwaukee Public Library's Dr. James Cameron Pamphlet Collection
The Dr. James Cameron Pamphlet Collection is made up of thirty-eight self-published pamphlets by civil rights activist Dr. James Cameron (1914-2006). Dr. Cameron was the only known survivor of a lynching and the founder of the America’s Black Holocaust Museum in Milwaukee, WI. These pamphlets can be viewed digitally.
Sheboygan Area Black American Community Outreach
Established in 2020, Black-American Community Outreach (BACO) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization to empower and support Black community members in Sheboygan, Wisconsin. Their mission is to support black community members with resources and tools in an effort to promote and encourage economic growth, academic success, and job/employment skills while encouraging and providing opportunities to serve in the community.

National Resources

African American History & Culture (National Park Foundation)
National parks across the country preserve and share the multi-generational and multi-faceted stories of African Americans in the United States.
The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship (Library of Congress Exhibit)
The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship explores black America's quest for equality from the early national period through the twentieth century. It showcases the incomparable African American collections of the Library of Congress by displaying more than 240 items, including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, and plays in the largest black history exhibit ever presented by the Library. The Library's materials, gathered over the two hundred years of its existence, tell the story of the African American experience through nine chronological periods.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes sound recordings, newspapers, maps, documents, web archives chronicling African American history.
National Museum of African American History & Culture Online Collection
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture
The Poetry Foundation: The Harlem Renaissance
An introduction tracing the groundbreaking poetry work of African Americans in this pivotal cultural and artistic movement.
Schomburg Digital Projects
Digital Schomburg’s online exhibitions—using images, full-length books and articles, manuscripts, maps, and essays by renowned scholars—present an in-depth look into specific themes. These exhibitions, some with lesson plans and educational activities, are comprehensive presentations and interpretations of essential historical, political, and cultural topics in the global black experience and, taken together, give you access to the latest research as well as tens of thousands of pages of texts and several thousand images.
United States Civil Rights Trail Interactive Map
The U.S. Civil Rights Trail is a collection of churches, courthouses, schools, museums and other landmarks across 15 states that played a pivotal role in advancing social justice in the 1950s and 1960s, shifting the course of history. Explore the historic sites with this interactive map.
Virtual Harlem
The Virtual Harlem project is a virtual representation of Harlem, New York as it existed during the Harlem Renaissance/Jazz Age. The Virtual Harlem digital environment contains iconic locations like the Cotton Club, the Apollo Theater, The Marshall Hotel, museums, art galleries and the Harlem Branch Library. In addition to these famous locations, there are also interactive elements, collaborative possibilities, music of the period and opportunities for students to create projects related to the period and to role play.

National Museum of African American History and Culture, located in Washington, D.C.

Adam Fagen. (2017) National Museum of African American History and Culture [Photograph]. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/afagen/37948030122

Podcasts

Black Art is Lit
Hosted by Award-winning Playwright Nykieria Chaney, Black Art is Lit highlights phenomenal black authors and their literary contributions!
Black Girl Gone
True crime with a new focus...shining a light on the all too often ignored cases of Black women who have gone missing or have fallen victim to murder.
The Black Kitchen Series
A look at the world of cooking and drinking from a Black perspective. Chef and cocktail curator Jade Verette talks to chefs, farmers, artists and all sorts of people who are changing the face of food.
Jemele Hill Is Unbothered
Emmy Award-winning journalist, NAACP Image Award and Webby Award winner Jemele Hill shares her unbothered, nuanced opinions on news, pop culture, politics, and sports. She also conducts intimate interviews with some of the biggest names and most thought-provoking contributors to culture, music, and entertainment.
Therapy For Black Girls
The Therapy for Black Girls Podcast is a weekly chat about all things mental health, personal development, and all the small decisions we can make to become the best possible versions of ourselves. Join host Dr. Joy Harden Bradford, whose work focuses on making mental health topics more relevant and accessible for Black women.
Visiting Scholars at the Schomburg Center
New ideas, enlightening conversations, cutting-edge research, tomorrow's trends: it's all here in the podcast series from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Listen to our visiting scholars as they share their knowledge and passions. From feminism to the intersection of religion, race, and sexuality; from memory and identity to urban development; from poetry to biographies, these exclusive interviews explore a world of fascinating topics.