Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Books & Journals 

Open books and journals are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections below have links to the same resources, but each will have a particular focus and items you can't find in other collections.

Achieving the Dream (ATD)

Community Colleges that particpated in ATD's OER grant created OER's specific to community college courses. Child Development, Sociology, Pyschology, Communication, Business, Microeconomics, and more. 

Boundless

Works with experts to compile web-based openly available content into the same general arrangement of textbooks. You can actually search the ISBN of your current textbook to see what content Boundless would use to replace it.

DOAB

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
19,000 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 319 publishers.

DOAJ

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

LibreTexts

A multi-institutional venture out of UC Davis to develop the next generation of open-access textbooks. Books in Chemistry, Biology, Math, Statistics, Physics, Social Sciences, Engineering, Business, and more.

OpenStax College   

Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses.

Open Textbook Library

Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks collected by the University of Minnesota.

PLOS

Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a nonprofit organization that publishes a suite of seven peer-reviewed Open Access journals featuring quality research, expert commentary and critical analysis across all areas of science and medicine.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central® is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

(SUNY) Open Textbooks

With the initiative of the State University of New York (SUNY) Libraries, Open SUNY Textbooks publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.