Public Safety Guide

Research Basics

Research in Public Safety - A Starting Point

Welcome to your Public Safety Research guide! This guide compiles your PS resources in one place.

Recommended Databases

• Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window

  A great place to start your research! This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including full text for nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed titles.
• Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window

  Current news and information to all branches of the military. Includes trade and scholarly publications.
• Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window

  Explore current issues and events with articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates

Government Databases

• 

  GovInfo

  The official database of the Government Printing Office with all local and national government documents across all branches of government
• 

  USA.gov

  U.S. government's official web portal. Find information from local, state, and federal government agency websites
• 

  Homeland Security Digital Library

  Open access to the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
• 

  United State Department of Justice

  The world's largest law office and the central agency for enforcement of federal laws.

Google Scholar

Feeling stuck? Google Scholar is Google's nerdy cousin: It searches only scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Any results with a "PDF" link are freely accessible. If you can't open the full text, let a librarian know - we'll get it for you through interlibrary loan! 

• Next: Books, EBooks, & Movies >>

Lakeshore Technical College does not discriminate against protected classes, including but not limited to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, or gender--including sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, disability or age in employment, admissions, or its programs or activities. To handle inquiries regarding Lakeshore’s nondiscrimination policies, contact the Manager of Access, Equity, and Inclusion for students 920.693.1120, nicole.yang@gotoltc.edu or the Executive Director of Human Resources for staff/others 920.693.1139, marissa.holst@gotoltc.edu. Lakeshore, 1290 North Avenue, Cleveland, WI 53015. TTY 711 gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement. For more information visit https://gotoltc.edu/equal-opportunity-statement.